Wednesday, April 15, 2009

The Basement Design + Motion Named a Techpoint Mira Award Finalist

TechPoint Releases Finalists for Prestigious Mira Awards Program Presented by BKD CPAs & Advisors

Four independent panels of judges have chosen 63 Indiana companies, schools
and individuals to compete for state’s top technology honors

INDIANAPOLIS (April 15, 2009) — Now in its 10th year, the 2009 TechPoint Mira Awards presented by BKD represent the top technology businesses, business professionals and educators in the state of Indiana. Four independent panels of judges chose 63 finalists from a record number of nominations in 11 categories this year.

“To receive a record number of entries into the Mira Awards competition and to see so many technology-related companies thriving—particularly during the current national economic downturn—is a real testament to the strength of Indiana’s tech sector,” said Jim Jay, president and CEO of TechPoint. “The Mira Awards recognize the achievements of some outstanding performers and contributors, and it’s also a great way to focus attention on the broader issue of the important role technology plays in our state’s economy.”

According to the 2009 TechAmerica CyberStates report, Indiana's high-tech economy employs more than 71,000 technology professionals representing an annual payroll of $4.2 billion. CyberStates reports that these in-demand positions pay an average of $83,000 annually, more than double Indiana's latest reported per-capita income of $32,000.

The 2009 winners will be announced at an “Oscars-style” award ceremony being held Sat., May 16 at The Westin Indianapolis. TechPoint will also honor the past Mira Awards winners and finalists attending the ceremony. Visit for a complete list of previous Mira Awards winners and finalists.

The finalists for the 2009 TechPoint Mira Awards presented by BKD are as follows. The “gazelle” designation indicates that a company has been in business less than three years:

• Innovation of the Year
o AIGalCo, LLC
o ComfortMotion Technologies
o ExactTarget
o Intelliphage Inc.
o LacPro Industries, Inc.
o Precise Path Robotics
o Solstice Medical, LLC
o Swift Enterprises Ltd

• Information Technology
o ANGEL Learning, Inc.
o Apparatus
o eImagine Technology Group, Inc.
o ENTAP, Inc.
o ExactTarget
o Information in Place, Inc.
o Passageways, LLC
o Perpetual Technologies, Inc.
o WebLink International

• Information Technology Gazelle
o BlueLock, LLC
o, LLC
o Compendium Blogware
o FormSpring
o Right On Interactive
o Scale Computing
o Sensory Ventures, LLC
o The Basement Design + Motion, LLC
o Vontoo

• Health & Life Sciences
o BioStorage Technologies, Inc.
o EHOB, Inc.
o Safis-Solutions, LLC

• Health & Life Sciences Gazelle
o Indiana Health Information Exchange
o Jinsitec, LLC
o OrthoPediatrics Corporation
o Predictive Physiology and Medicine (PPM)

• Education Contribution- Dept/Prog/Team
o Ball State's Institute for Digital Fabrication, Ball State University
o Ball State's Digital Corps, Ball State University
o Global Research Network Operations Center, part of University Information Technology Services at Indiana University, Indiana University
o Pervasive Technology Institute at Indiana University: Polar Grid Project Team, Indiana University
o Purdue University Department of Computer Science K - 12 Outreach Program, Purdue University - Department of Computer Science
o Rose-Hulman's Homework Hotline, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
o Surprising Possibilities Imagined and Realized through Information Technology (SPIRIT) at Purdue University, Purdue University

• Education Contribution- Individual
o Beth Kiggins, University of Indianapolis
o Brian Tanner, Space Port Indiana
o Daniel G. Aliaga, Department of Computer Science, Purdue University
o Fred Kitchens, Ball State University
o Jennifer George-Palilonis, Ball State University
o Jessica Seaton, The Insititute for Digital Entertianment and Education at Ball State University
o Rodger Smith, The Insititute for Digital Entertianment and Education at Ball State University
o Yung C. Shin, Purdue University

• Education Contribution- K-12
o Barb Underwood, Carmel Clay Schools
o Robbie Grimes, Brownsburg Community School Corporation
o Dr. Sheila Boehning, Doe Creek Middle School

• Advanced Manufacturing
o CloudBlue Technologies, Inc.
o Hurco Companies, Inc.

• Excellence in Corporate IT
o FORUM Solutions

• Healthcare IT Innovation Award
o Angie's List
o HealthCall, LLC
o Indiana Health Information Exchange, Inc. (IHIE)
o Intelliphage Inc.
o OBS Medical
o Orbis Education
o Pervasive Technology Institute at Indiana University with Purdue University – The CTSI Hub Team
o Solstice Medical, LLC

Visit for more information about the 2009 TechPoint Mira Awards presented by BKD.

About TechPoint
TechPoint is Indiana’s only statewide technology initiative, representing industry stakeholders including publicly-traded companies, private businesses, colleges and research universities, and local economic development organizations. The mission of TechPoint is to accelerate Indiana’s emerging and vibrant information technology sector by: promoting the successes of IT companies and professionals; supporting the formation, expansion, and attraction of IT companies; and advocating appropriate public policy. Visit

No comments: